Joanna Lumley (Patsy Stone) on mutton dressed as lamb

We LOVE Absolutely Fabulous (and have definitely met a Patsy Stone or two) so are more than a little excited about the forthcoming episodes (Christmas, New Year’s and an Olympics special).

We’ve always wondered just how much ‘Patsy’ is in Joanna Lumley and it seems the answer is, a little. Although Joanna is no wino (it makes for a fuffy face) she told Women & Home magazine that older women should embrace the ‘mutton dressed as lamb’ look if they want to, just like Patsy.

Joanna Lumley looking absolutely fabulous

Now 65 (though she doesn’t look it), Joanna reportedly said: “I think it’s important for women to be daring and not worry what people say… I love what people might call mutton-dressed-as-lamb shops.  I love layering clothes, like young girls wear. I like being experimental with fashion.”

And good for her! Why should we have to follow such stringent fashion rules especially if we have spent years developing a personal sense of style?

Joanna reckons there is no reason why older women can’t shop in Topshop, for example. She said: “The other day I put on a pair of old Jean Muir shorts I found at the back of the wardrobe and I felt fabulous. Mind you, nobody said anything about how I looked – not a compliment in sight – so maybe I didn’t look that great. But, gosh, I felt fabulous.”

What do you reckon; is looking great (in the eyes of others) as important as feeling good? And could fashion for older women Joanna Lumley’s next big campaign?

We plan on growing old disgracefully (or if not, just keeping having fun with fashion). They should really make bracelets asking ‘What Would Patsy Do?’

…And some of our favourite Patsy quotes…

”Time is like a stretched elastic band. You can’t let it go or it’ll come back and take your eye out.”

”One snap of my fingers and I can raise hemlines so high the whole world’s your gynaecologist.”

“The last mosquito that bit me had to check into the Betty Ford clinic.”

”You don´t need an O-level to operate a syringe”

Patsy: The legend

HURRY UP AB FAB WE MISS YOU!

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

